Realizations and goals

I realized on my way to my second job last night that certain life developments shouldn’t be looked upon as the end of what was but as the beginning of something new. Something exciting. Plus, I realized that I’m lazy and need to do something about being 33 and out of shape. Here are some of the things that I decided on during that drive into the newspaper that it was time to do something about…

    1. No more smoking… 

      As in, I’m done. No more. I have patches at home and am wearing one now (Ooooh, sweet nicotine). I was smoking a lot due to perceived stress but realized I was “enjoying it” less and less. I’m not saying I’m never going to smoke again as the urge always seems to return whenever I have a few beers, but there will be no more daily smoking of 2-10 cigarettes, which has been the case for far too long. It felt pretty good when I threw that “last” empty pack away.

    2. Focus on the fun stuff… 

      As in it’s time to focus on the things that I enjoy. That means, getting back to business with The Unadulterated BS Podcast. That means attacking this blog and my goal of writing one thing a day. That means actually being a decent commissioner to my fantasy football league (sorry guys). I find myself with a lot of extra time now that I basically only need to worry about 3 super-important things in my life (Hey kids, did you brush your teeth today? No. Time to mete out punishment.).

      That also means focusing on work, as well. Both my part time job at the newspaper and my full-time job as a professional passer of judgement on others. No, really, that’s what I do. In addition to spending 7 hours of my day staring at spreadsheets. I f’n hate Excel with a passion. If I see one more god-damned circular formula error…

      I’ve been spending a lot of time moping lately, but now it’s time to get things done. Hence this post and a lot of other productive items coming down the pipeline. I can’t change the course of many things right now, but I do have a lot of other stuff I can control. Time to focus on those and let everything else sort itself out.

    3. Get off your butt, fatty… 

      In recent weeks, I have already lost 20 pounds (down from 210ish) and I attribute that to stress and just working a lot, particularly the cleaning job I left a while back. However, in addition to quitting smoking, I wanted to do some more to take care of myself and get myself into the weight range that I want to be in (175ish and hawt).With that in mind, I’ve started back on my “household” exercises. Basically, a bunch of easy stuff I can do without having to be in a gym. My neurosis and insecurities still won’t allow for much of that. This basically includes a plan to work myself up to being able to do 100 push-ups and sit-ups a day. I’m also working on my cardio using a Couch to 5K app and the treadmills at my day job. Everything is managed through my phone and I keep updating daily.

      The end goal is to get that lovely “V” shape below my abs. You know what I’m talking about, ladies. That way, I can walk around without a shirt, for no real reason, and take attention away from my face. No amount of working out is going to save that.

    4. Get style… 

      I have none. In fact, I’m going to go buy new shoes today and have a feeling my brain will explode as I have no idea what’s cool or what looks good. This is the one where I might have to ask for help.I’ve never been a stylish person, usually resorting to a t-shirt and jeans with a sweatshirt of some-type over the top. It just never makes sense to me. I blame my brain as I constantly bicker with myself when getting dressed in the morning over what looks good together, colors, styles. All of it. Oh, and I won’t even mention the mop on top of my head that I usually cover with a ball cap.

      This is one of those longer ranging goals since I don’t think I’m going to change my casual-lazy look overnight. Maybe, if I can just move into the casual but well put together, we’ll call it a victory.

So, that’s it. It was only a 20 minute ride, so details are sparse on some things. The basic idea that I came out of the car with is that I’m going to focus on the things that I have control over right now. Keep myself busy with tasks and a schedule and have some fun with it. I’ll post lots of updates. I even considered the infomercial-like before and after photos as I try to get myself in shape. All-in-all, I woke up today with a smile and lots of stuff to work on and that’s a far cry from how I woke up yesterday.

“Today is your special day, even if today might be tomorrow to an Australian. And even though you’re not Australian, it doesn’t negate the fact that today may or may not be tomorrow.”
― Jarod KintzAmerican Association for the Advancement of Aardvarks Presents: Dear Natalie

2 thoughts on “Realizations and goals

Leave a Reply

